Healthy Community Initiative

Thriving Youth. Thriving Community.


HCI Board

HCI Board Members

Saul Alfaro Alvarez
Junior, Northfield High School

Erin Bailey
Director, Northfield Public Schools Community Education

Claudia Bauer
Administrative Assistant, St. Dominic School

Carrie Duba
PreK-12 Systems and Instructional Coach, Northfield Public Schools

Eric Guth
Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Northfield Hospital + Clinics

P.T. Haider
Deputy Chief of Police, Northfield

Natalie Halverson
Supervisor of Health Promotion, Scott County Public Health

Ellen Iverson
Director of Evaluation, Science Education Resource Center, Carleton

Jens Kasten
Senior, Northfield High School

Dr. Angelica Koch
Community Volunteer

Anna Kochevar
Arcadia Class of 2019 graduate, Community Volunteer

Alyssa Melby
Program Director of Academic Civic Engagement, St. Olaf

Kirk Muhlenbruck (Co-Chair)
Market President, Merchants Bank

Randy Olson
Senior Vice President, Chief Credit Officer, Community Resource Bank

Parker Sneary (Co-Chair)
Senior, Northfield High School

Betsy Spethmann
Director of Communications, Northfield Hospital + Clinics

Laura Stelter
Executive Director, Arcadia Charter School

Val Svenby
Family Literacy Specialist, Faribault Public Schools

Linda Thornton (Treasurer)
Comptroller, Carleton College

Brianna Velazquez Sanchez
Sophomore, Faribault High School

HCI Executive Committee 2023-2024

Chairs: Kirk Muhlenbruck & Parker Sneary
Vice Chairs: To be named
Treasurer: Linda Thornton
Northfield Hospital & Clinics Rep: Betsy Spethmann
Northfield Public Schools Rep: Erin Bailey

Board Meeting Dates

HCI board meetings are typically held on the third Wednesday of every month from 7:30 a.m. to 9 a.m. by Zoom. In-person meetings (noted below) are held at the Northfield Community Resource Center (NCRC), unless otherwise noted. If you would like to attend a meeting, email

  • August 21, 2024
  • September 18, 2024 (Annual Meeting)
  • October 16, 2024 (in person)
  • November 20, 2024
  • December 18, 2024
  • January 15, 2025
  • February 19, 2025 (in person)
  • March 19, 2025
  • April 16, 2025
  • May 21, 2025 (in person)