Healthy Community Initiative

Thriving Youth. Thriving Community.


Staff and Board


Amina Aden
TORCH Support Specialist, Northfield High School and Area Learning Center

Ashley Anderson
Director of Collaborative Health Projects

Toby Anderson
Family Recovery Support Coordinator

Laura Baltazar
Rice County ParentChild+ Coordinator
Early Learning Specialist

Jennyffer Barrientos
Growing Up Healthy Director (Northfield)
Family Engagement Navigator (Northfield Middle School)

Nadine Bartolo
TORCH Support Specialist, Northfield High School

Austin Bauer
Director of Reporting & Analytics

Zach Besky
RCCMHC Support Specialist

Emily Culver
Internet Access Specialist

Gwen Daniels
Graphic Designer

Meleah Follen
Youth Engagement Director

Becky Ford
Faribault Youth Investment Director

Laura Garcia
Rice County ParentChild+ Early Learning Specialist
Growing Up Healthy Coordinator

Candace Godfrey
Alumni Coordinator, Northfield Promise

Leah Hegg
Prevention & Fund Development Coordinator

Tessa Kiesow
TORCH Director, Northfield High School

Sarah Lee
HCI Coordinator

Leslie Limón
Rice County ParentChild+ Director
Growing Up Healthy Coordinator


Katie Lovrien
TORCH Director, Northfield Middle School

Amy Lunderby
Administrative Director

Sandy Malecha
Senior Director

Natalia Marchan
Growing Up Healthy Director (Faribault)
Family Engagement Navigator (Roosevelt Elementary School)

Amy McBroom
HCI Grants Coordinator

Denise Mesta
YouthBank Coordinator, Faribault

Hanan Mohamud
RISE Coordinator

Juanita Picazo
RISE Coordinator

Fatima Ponciano
Growing Up Healthy Coordinator
Early Childhood Navigator

Zach Pruitt
HCI Executive Director

Angie Ramirez
RISE Coordinator

Heidy Ramirez
Family Engagement Navigator (Greenvale Park Elementary)
Growing Up Healthy Coordinator

Joy Riggs
Communications Coordinator

Carrie Romo
Growing Up Healthy Coordinator
Early Childhood Navigator

Haley Sawatzke
Support Specialist

Katie Theis
Northfield Community College Collaborative Director

Laura Turek
Northfield Promise Coordinator



2020-2021 Meeting Dates

HCI board meetings are typically held on the third Wednesday of every month from 7:30 a.m. to 9 a.m. in Room HS225 of the Northfield Community Resource Center (NCRC). If you would like to attend a meeting, contact one of the staff members listed above or write us via our contact form.

  • October 21, 2020
  • November 18, 2020
  • December 16, 2020
  • January 20, 2021
  • February 17, 2021
  • March 17, 2021
  • April 21, 2021
  • May 19, 2021
  • June 16, 2021
  • July 21, 2021
  • August 18, 2021
  • September, 15, 2021

Board Members

Rahmah Abdulai (Co-Chair)
Senior, Northfield High School

Keith Argabright (Co-Vice Chair)
Chief Sales Officer, Roundbank-EVP

Erin Bailey
Director, Northfield Public Schools Community Education

Claudia Bauer
Latino Youth Coordinator, Office of Latino Ministry
Archdiocese of St. Paul & Minneapolis

Carrie Duba
PreK-12 Systems and Instructional Coach, Northfield Public Schools

Natalie Ginter
Director of Community Engagement and Development, Allina Health

P.T. Haider
Deputy Chief of Police, Northfield

Amira Haileab (Co-Vice Chair)
Junior, Northfield High School

Oden Hoff
Junior, Northfield High School

Stefany Huerta Ochoa
Senior, Northfield High School

Ellen Iverson
Director of Evaluation, Science Education Resource Center, Carleton

Alyssa Herzog Melby
Assistant Director of Academic Civic Engagement, St. Olaf

Anna Kochevar (ex officio)
Past HCI Board Co-Chair; Arcadia Class of 2019 graduate

Mark Mohlke
Bremer Bank Owatonna President

Connie Nelson (Co-Chair)
Master Coach, Minnesota Reading Corps

Randy Olson
Senior Vice President, Chief Credit Officer, Community Resource Bank

Stefany Perez Dorantes
Senior, Northfield High School

Tanner Schieck (Treasurer)
Co-owner, Schieck Orthodontics

Betsy Spethmann
Director of Communications, Northfield Hospital + Clinics

Laura Stelter
Executive Director, Arcadia Charter School

Linda Thornton
Comptroller, Carleton College

HCI Committees 2020-2021

Executive Committee

Chairs: Connie Nelson & Rahmah Abdulai
Vice Chairs: Keith Argabright & Youth TBD
Treasurer: Tanner Schieck
Northfield Hospital & Clinics Rep: Betsy Spethmann
Northfield Public Schools Rep: Erin Bailey